Azerbaijan is a  country of eastern Transcaucasia  that fringes the southern flanks of the Caucasus Mountains. It is bounded on the north by Russia, on the east by the Caspian Sea, on the south by Iran, on the west by Armenia and on the northwest by Georgia. 

The capital of Azerbaijan is the ancient city of Baku on the banks of  the Caspian sea. Baku is located 28 metres  below sea level, which makes it the lowest lying national capital in the world and also the largest city in the world located below sea level.

The historical centre of Baku reveals its tumultuous past from its roots as a Persian capital, through its oil boom to its Soviet occupation. The old city is a maze of alleys, mosques, historic buildings and remnants of fortification, including the Palace of the Shirvanshahs and the Maiden Tower, now listed among UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites.

Explore the City

× How can I help you?